NETWORKED MEDIA

Assignment 1- Blog Reflection

Through out the past 5 weeks of Network Media, I have come to terms with writing online through blog posts. Before this course, I have never used a blog to express my feelings or to get a message across, so this was very new to me. At the beginning, I found it quite difficult to figure out what I was interested in to write lots about, after some thoughts I decided to write about ‘Places I would rather be’ instead of the place I am currently in. I have so far, enjoyed trying to make my viewers/fans feel what I feel in the particular moment I blog. I try to write exactly how I feel as if I was telling a story so that the reader can understand my real thoughts. I always start off with what I am currently doing to draw a real picture, than explain the place I would rather be and why. I also have another part of my blog that is separated by Tags and Categories. The second part is all about my findings and l what I have learnt throughout my weeks in Network Media.

This course has given me a great view of ‘Network Literacy’ and what it is all about. My blog post ‘Networked Media Wk2’ explains that adding an image or a link to a blog post makes us network literate writer. After learning this, I than experimented with different ways to be more network literate throughout my blog, I decided that I wanted to make my blog easier to navigate, so I started to use tags and categories to separate my two parts of my blog. I also than tried adding more links and images to blog posts to help the reader get a better view of what I was saying in each post.

Using WordPress, I now understand that there are many different tools to make your blogs/writing more than what it is. I have found it interesting that you can share different types of media through different tools like hypertext or hyperlinks within a blog post or Internet site. My blog post ‘Wk 5 Lecture, Reading & Tutorial” talks about Hypertexts and how adding a link to a post/site can give the reader more ways to navigate their way around a specific topic, as well as giving them more of a reason to research and be interested in what they are reading. Prior to the post I went and looked at some articles online that incorporated hypertexts and I found it a lot easier to research my chosen topic (Travelling), this simple tool also made it a smooth and persuasive experience as it gave me a reason to read more and get me interested in what I was researching.

Overall, my experience with blogging has excited me as a writer. I have changed my view of writing and have learnt to enjoy it. I never wrote for fun, it was always for a University purpose, I believe that I will continue writing my own blog, expressing my feelings and experience to those who are interested.

Screen Shot 2016-04-11 at 11.13.03 am

Leave a comment